Post-Brexit EU market access for medicinal products and medical devices

Are you ready for Brexit? 

We are! Diapharm is here to help pharmaceutical companies from the United Kingdom retain easy market access to the European Union even after Brexit. We look for pragmatic solutions and, if needed, can take over responsibility as a marketing authorisation holder (MAH) or EC representative, among other roles.

Following Brexit, the United Kingdom and the EU27 will be separate legal jurisdictions. For British manufacturers and distributors of medicinal products and medical devices, this means that their country will be a third state for the EU27. In the event of a hard Brexit, this would be the case immediately from 29 March 2019. In all other scenarios, companies would have a brief grace period to prepare for the transition. 

As it currently appears, this third-state status would apply at some point under all Brexit scenarios, even under what is known as the “Norway-plus” model. If the British government gets its way, the United Kingdom’s membership in the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) or the European Economic Area (EEA) would only be temporary for a transitional period. The Norway-plus model involving EFTA membership therefore does not provide legal certainty for MAHs.



British manufacturers of medicinal products and medical devices who want to market their products in the EU27 after Brexit therefore need a pragmatic, long-term alternative that provides legal certainty and compliance. And that is exactly what Diapharm has.

Photo:  Thilo Sandner
Dr. Thilo Sandner
Managing Partner
Photo:  Guido Middeler
Dr. Guido Middeler
Partner
Photo:  Ralf Sibbing
Ralf Sibbing
Managing Partner

EU27 market access for medicinal products

A legal and sales organisation in a European jurisdiction is required to market medicinal products in the EU. For more than a decade, Diapharm has been successfully helping manufacturers from third states market medicinal products in full compliance with EU Directive 2001/83/EC. Depending on the situation, we can also take on:

To market medicinal products in the EU27, the marketing authorisation holder must be domiciled within the European Union. British companies will therefore be unable to hold medicinal product marketing authorisations in the European Union following Brexit, necessitating a transfer to a new marketing authorisation holder based in the EU. Please refer to CMDh/361/2017 for more information. Batch release testing of medicinal products may take place either in the EU or in a country that has signed a mutual recognition agreement (MRA) with the EU. To date, however, the United Kingdom is not on the EMA’s list of MRAs. Certain processes, such as EU market release (batch release), must be performed in the European Union, not the EEA. As a result, even British membership in the EEA – commonly known as the Norway-plus model – would not be sufficient. 
 

EU27 market access for medical devices

Manufacturers and distributors of medical devices or IVDs who do not have a registered office in Europe, or no longer have a seat within the community, need to appoint an EC representative (EC REP). According to the Medical Device Regulation (MDR 2017/745), the EC REP is responsible for the products on the market in the name of the manufacturer. The representative acts as a contact for the authorities and bears third-party liability for the use of these products. Diapharm can take on this responsibility on your behalf. 

Manufacturers of (substance-based) medical devices have successfully relied on our model for over ten years now. Diapharm currently acts as an EC representative or legal manufacturer for more than 30 million packs of medical devices on the market in Europe. We offer a wide range of additional functions to round out this service:

Distributors based in the EU that market medical devices from the United Kingdom should remember that once the Brexit process has been completed, the EU will consider the UK to be a third state, turning EU distributors into importers! This can have a tremendous impact with regard to issues such as product liability (85/374/EEC). Please inform yourself ahead of time.

 

Custom-tailored services

For ten years now, Diapharm’s Hälsa model has allowed it to meet a wide range of individual requirements for medicinal products and medical devices alike. While some clients outsource every mandatory role to us in order to access the European market securely and as quickly as possible, others make use of a separate legal entity based on our Hälsa blueprint, or they take advantage of selected individual services only, such as our EC REP or QP options. 

We would be happy to help you decide which model is the right fit for your Brexit needs. Contact us!

News

 

  1. Contact us!
  2. Service hotline: +49 251 609350 
    +43 1 5321606 
    +31 133029063 
    +86 21 6057 7019 

  3. E-Mail: info@diapharm.com

  4. Salutation*

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to improve the user experience. By continuing to use this website, you consent to the use of cookies.

EU-Marktzugang nach dem Brexit für Arzneimittel und Medizinprodukte

Sind Sie darauf vorbereitet?

Wir sind es, denn für pharmazeutische Unternehmer aus dem Vereinigten Königreich stellt Diapharm einen reibungslosen Marktzugang in die Europäische Union auch nach dem Brexit sicher. Wir finden pragmatische Lösungen und übernehmen bei Bedarf auch Verantwortung, etwa als Zulassungsinhaber oder Bevollmächtigter (EC Representative) für die Europäische Union.

Mit dem Brexit werden das Vereinigte Königreich und die EU27 zu separaten Rechtsbereichen. Für britische Hersteller und Inverkehrbringer von Arzneimitteln und Medizinprodukten bedeutet dies, dass ihr Land für die EU27 damit zum „Drittstaat“ wird. Im Falle eines Hard Brexit wäre dies sofort nach dem 29. März 2019 der Fall – in allen anderen Szenarien nach einer mehr oder minder kurzen Übergangsfrist.

Der „Drittstaat“-Status wird nach derzeitigem Stand für alle Brexit-Szenarien gelten. Dies würde mittelfristig sogar für das sogenannte „Norwegen Plus“-Modell gelten. Denn die Mitgliedschaft Großbritanniens in der Europäischen Freihandelsassoziation (EFTA) beziehungsweise dem Europäischen Wirtschaftsraum (EWR) soll nach dem Willen der britischen Regierung nur für einen Übergangszeitraum gelten. Das „Norwegen Plus“-Modell der EFTA-Mitgliedschaft schafft für Arzneimittel-Hersteller also keine Rechtssicherheit.



Britische Hersteller von Arzneimitteln und Medizinprodukten, die ihre Produkte nach dem Brexit in der EU27 vertreiben wollen, benötigen also eine pragmatische, dauerhafte und rechtssichere Alternative. Diapharm hat sie:

Photo:  Thilo Sandner
Dr. Thilo Sandner
Managing Partner
Photo:  Guido Middeler
Dr. Guido Middeler
Partner
Photo:  Ralf Sibbing
Ralf Sibbing
Managing Partner

EU27-Marktzugang für Arzneimittel

Um Arzneimittel in der EU auf den Markt zu bringen, ist eine Rechts- und Vertriebsorganisation im Rechtsgebiet Europas unerlässlich. Diapharm unterstützt seit über einem Jahrzehnt Hersteller aus Drittstaaten erfolgreich dabei, Arzneimittel nach allen Regeln der EU-Richtlinie 2001/83/EG auf den Markt zu bringen. Je nach Anforderung übernehmen wir:

Um Arzneimittel in der EU27 in den Verkehr zu bringen, ist es erforderlich, dass der Zulassungsinhaber seinen Sitz im Rechtsgebiet der Europäischen Union hat. Post-Brexit können britische Unternehmen daher keine Arzneimittelzulassungen in der Europäischen Union mehr halten, ein Transfer auf einen neuen Zulassungsinhaber mit Sitz in der EU ist also erforderlich. Hinweise gibt die CMDh/361/2017. Bestimmte Aufgaben wie die EU-Marktfreigabe (Chargenfreigabe) schließlich müssen sogar zwingend in der Europäischen Union vorgenommen werden, nicht im EWR. Selbst eine britische EWR-Mitgliedschaft, wie sie unter dem Namen „Norwegen Plus“-Modell diskutiert wurde, würde alleine also nicht ausreichen.

Marktzugang für Medizinprodukte

Hersteller und Distributoren von Medizinprodukten oder IVD, die nicht (mehr) über einen europäischen Rechtssitz verfügen, müssen stattdessen einen Bevollmächtigten (EC Representative; EC REP) benennen. Gemäß Medizinprodukteverordnung (MDR 2017/745) ist dieser im Namen des Herstellers für die auf den Markt gebrachtem Produkte zuständig. Er ist Ansprechpartner für Behörden und haftet gegenüber Dritten hinsichtlich der Anwendung der Produkte. Diapharm übernimmt diese Verantwortung im Auftrag.

Hersteller (stofflicher) Medizinprodukte setzen unser Modell bereits seit über zehn Jahren äußerst erfolgreich ein. Diapharm agiert derzeit als EC-Representative beziehungsweise als Legalhersteller für mehr als 30 Mio. Medizinprodukte-Packungen, die in Europa im Verkehr sind. Diesen Service komplettieren wir mit zahlreichen weiteren Funktionen:

Hinweis für Händler (Distributoren) mit Sitz in der EU, die Medizinprodukte aus dem Vereinigten Königreich vertreiben: Wenn der Brexit vollzogen ist, gilt Großbritannien gegenüber der EU als Drittstaat. EU-Händler werden damit zum Importeur! Dies kann erhebliche Auswirkungen nach sich ziehen, etwa hinsichtlich der Produkthaftung (85/374/EWG). Bitte informieren Sie sich rechtzeitig.

Individuelle Ausgestaltung

Mit dem seit zehn Jahren praktizierten „Hälsa-Modell“ erfüllt Diapharm ganz individuelle Anforderungen sowohl für Arzneimittel als auch für Medizinprodukte. Während einige Klienten alle erforderlichen Aufgaben an uns outsourcen, um binnen kürzester Zeit einen sicheren Marktzugang in Europa zu realisieren, nutzen andere eine eigene rechtliche Entität, die auf unserem Hälsa-Blueprint basiert, oder sie greifen nur auf ausgewählte Einzelleistungen zurück, etwa unsere EC-REP- oder QP-Services.

Wir beraten Sie gern bei der Entscheidung, welches Modell optimal zu Ihren Brexit-Anforderungen passt. Sprechen Sie uns an!

Aktuelles

 

  1. Sprechen Sie uns an!
  2. Servicetelefon: +49 (0)251 609350 
    +43 1 5321606 

  3. E-Mail: info@diapharm.com
    info@diapharm.at

  4. Anrede*

Diese Webseite nutzt Cookies

Wir nutzen Cookies zur Verbesserung des Nutzererlebnisses. Indem Sie weiter auf dieser Webseite navigieren, erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden.